Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations (National Energy Board)

Background

On 6 July 2012, the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act came into force. As part of that Act, the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act) was amended to provide the NEB with authority to establish a system of Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMPs) through regulations to promote compliance with the NEB Act.

The NEB has developed Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations (National Energy Board) allowing the Board to impose financial penalties on companies or individuals for non-compliance with the NEB Act, regulations, decisions, permits, orders, licenses or certificate conditions intended to promote safety or environmental protection.

The new AMP sections in the NEB Act set out the maximum daily penalties for both individuals and companies. For individuals the maximum daily penalty is $25,000 for each violation, and for companies the maximum daily penalty is $100,000 per violation. The Act stipulates that each day that a violation continues is considered to be a separate violation. This means that separate penalties could be issued per infraction, per day with no maximum total financial penalty.

The AMP Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II on 3 July 2013 and are now in force. The AMP Regulations can be found here.

AMP Process Guide

In response to comments and questions submitted during the consultation conducted for the AMP Regulations regarding how AMPs will be implemented in practice, the NEB has published a guidance document describing the NEB's overall administrative monetary penalties process (AMP Process) and the key elements of the AMP process from initiating an AMP through to the review and final decision stages of the process.

In developing the guide, external stakeholders were invited to provide comments on the level of detail provided in the draft version of the guide until 21 June 2013. The NEB thanks commenters for their participation, staff have reviewed the comments and updated the AMP Process Guide.

Contact Information

Comments
Address: Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations
National Energy Board
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8
Email:  ampsap@neb-one.gc.ca
Toll free:  1-800-899-1265
Fax:  403-292-5503
Toll free fax:  1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype):  1-800-632-1663

For media inquiries, please contact:

Darin Barter
Communications Officer
National Energy Board
E-mail: darin.barter@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3371
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (Office national de l’énergie)

Contexte

Le 6 juillet 2012, la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable est entrée en vigueur. Ce faisant, la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi) a été modifiée de manière à donner le pouvoir à l’Office de prendre des règlements pour mettre sur pied un système d’imposition de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) dans le but d’inciter au respect de la Loi.

L’Office a élaboré le Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (le Règlement) lui permettant d’imposer des pénalités financières à des sociétés ou à des personnes en cas de non-conformité à la Loi, aux règlements, aux décisions, aux permis, aux ordonnances, aux licences ou aux conditions dont un certificat pourrait être assorti dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement.

Les nouveaux articles de la Loi portant sur les SAP font état des montants qui peuvent être exigés quotidiennement de la part de particuliers et de sociétés. Pour les premiers, la pénalité quotidienne maximale est de 25,000 $ par infraction; pour les seconds, elle est de 100,000 $ par infraction. Il est précisé dans la Loi que chacun des jours au cours desquels se continue la violation est compté comme une violation distincte. Cela signifie que des sanctions distinctes pourraient être imposées chaque jour pour chaque infraction, sans maximum global.

Le Règlement a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II le 3 juillet 2013 et est maintenant en vigueur. Il est possible de le consulter ici.

Guide sur le processus relatif aux sanctions administratives pécuniaires

En réponse aux commentaires et questions découlant de la consultation menée au sujet du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (Office national de l'énergie) et de la façon d'imposer de telles sanctions, l'Office a publié un guide qui décrit le processus d'imposition dans son ensemble et qui en explique les principaux éléments, de l'avis de sanction jusqu'à la décision finale.

Au moment d'élaborer le guide, l'Office a demandé aux parties prenantes de l'extérieur de lui faire part de leurs commentaires, au plus tard le 21 juin 2013, quant au niveau de détail fourni dans l'ébauche. Il remercie toutes celles qui ont participé à cet exercice, au même titre que les membres du personnel qui ont passé les commentaires en revue et mis à jour le Guide sur le processus relatif aux sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

Coordonnées

Commentaires
Adresse : Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires
Office national de l'énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Courriel : ampsap@neb-one.gc.ca
Sans frais : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Sans frais : 1-877-288-8803
ATS (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Les médias peuvent communiquer avec la personne suivante :

Darin Barter
Agent des communications
Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : darin.barter@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3371
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :