Market Snapshot: Mid-size Producers play Increasingly Important Role in Western Canadian Natural Gas Market


Release Date: 2015-09-23

The past decade, the number of natural gas producers operating in western Canada has fallen by 30 per cent, from 829 in 2006 to 619 in 2014. Despite this decline, there are more mid-size and large mid-size producers active in the western Canadian gas market, and their share of total production has increased.

Although major producers still dominate the market’s ‘operated production’,Footnote 1 the share of production provided by mid-size and large mid-size producers has grown significantly. The share of production held by majors declined from 58 per cent in 2006 to 46 per cent in 2014, while large mid-size producers increased their share from 24 per cent to 34 per cent. The combined share of production from the top 10 producers in western Canada declined from 55 per cent in 2006 to 52 per cent in 2014, with share provided by the market's largest producer remaining unchanged at 12 per cent.

Figure Sources and Data

Sources: Divestco, NEB calculations

Description: The above chart depicts the share of production from western Canadian natural gas producers in 2006 and 2014, organized by total operated production. The share of production provided by major producers fell by 12 per cent from 2006 to 2014 and was offset by increases in the shares of mid-size producers increasing by two per cent and large mid-size producers increasing by 10 per cent. The share of production by juniors remained flat, while marginal and small producers saw negligible shifts of less than one per cent.

Total WCSB Operated Production
Producer Size MMcf/d
Marginal less than 1
Small 1 - 10
Junior 10 - 50
Mid-size 50 - 100
Large Mid-size 100 - 500
Major more than 500

Natural gas development requires large amounts of investment capital to fund complex and expensive drilling programs. Following the 2006 peak in production, gas prices fell and many smaller producers had difficulty attracting investment. Hundreds of marginal and small-size producers exited the market, along with a dozen juniors. Three major producers also sold their natural gas assets and exited the western Canadian market, leading to a decline in the share of production provided by majors. Mid-size and large mid-size producers increased their shares of production by drilling tight gas prospects on land acquired from majors, smaller producers, and provincial governments.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Rôle de plus en plus important des producteurs moyens sur le marché du gaz naturel de lʼOuest canadien

Date de diffusion : 2015-09-23

Au cours de la dernière décennie, le nombre de producteurs de gaz naturel exerçant des activités dans lʼOuest du Canada a diminué de 30 %, passant de 829 en 2006 à 619 en 2014. Malgré cette diminution, il y a plus de producteurs moyens et moyens-grands qui sont actifs sur le marché de lʼOuest canadien, et leur part de la production totale a augmenté.

La part de production exploitéeNote de bas de page 1 détenue par les producteurs importants est passée de 58 % en 2006 à 46 % en 2014, alors que celle des producteurs moyens-grands a augmenté de 24 % à 34 %, et celle des producteurs moyens est passée de 7 % à 9 %. La part des plus grands producteurs du marché est restée la même à 12 %.


Sources et description de la figure

Sources : Divestco, calculs de l’Office

Description : Le graphique ci-dessus illustre les pourcentages de production de gaz naturel dans lʼOuest canadien, en 2006 et 2014, selon les différentes tailles de société. La part de production des producteurs importants est passée de 58 % à 46 %. Cette baisse a été neutralisée par une augmentation de la part des producteurs moyens (de 7 % à 9 %) et de celle des producteurs moyens-grands (de 24 % à 34 %). La part de production des producteurs petits-moyens est demeurée stable, tandis que les producteurs de taille marginale et petite ont connu des changements négligeables. La part des producteurs de taille marginale et petite a été inférieure à 3 %.

Production d’exploitation totale du BSOC
Taille des producteurs Mpi³/j
Marginal moins de 1
Petit 1 - 10
Petit-moyen 10 - 50
Moyen 50 - 100
Moyen-grand 100 - 500
Important plus de 500

La mise en valeur moderne du gaz naturel exige de gros investissements de capitaux pour financer les programmes de forage complexes et coûteux. Après la pointe de production de 2006, le prix du gaz a chuté et beaucoup de petits producteurs ont éprouvé de la difficulté à attirer des investissements. Des centaines de producteurs de taille marginale et petite ont quitté le marché, de même quʼune dizaine de producteurs petits-moyens. Par ailleurs, trois producteurs importants ont vendu leurs éléments dʼactif du gaz naturel et ont quitté le marché de lʼOuest canadien, occasionnant une baisse de la part de production dans cette catégorie. Le producteurs moyens et moyens-grands ont augmenté leur part de production en forant des zones prometteuses de gaz de réservoir étanche sur des terres acquises de producteurs importants ou plus petits et de gouvernements provinciaux.

 

Date de modification :