Market Snapshot: Quebec-Ontario Power Sharing Agreement Supports Nuclear Refurbishments


Release Date: 2015-09-30

Ontario and Quebec signed a capacity sharing agreement for 500 megawatts (MW) of exchanged power seasonally from 1 December 2015 to 30 September 2025. Under the agreement, Quebec will have access to 500 MW of power from Ontario during the winter months (December-March) and Ontario would receive the same amount of capacity in the summer months (June-September). This will help Quebec meet its demand during the cold winter months, and provide Ontario with electricity supply during the high demand summer months. This will be particularly useful during the upcoming nuclear refurbishments.

Installed Electricity Generation Capacity in Ontario by Fuel Type and Nuclear Capacity by Plant

Figure Sources and Description

Sources: IESO, Ontario Power Generation (OPG) and Bruce Power

Description: The chart shows installed electricity generation capacity by fuel type for the month of June 2015. Ontario’s installed generation capacity is 34 780 MW. The installed nuclear capacity is 12 978 MW or 37 per cent of the total installed generation capacity. Of that, Bruce makes up 49 per cent, followed by Darlington at 27 per cent and Pickering at 24 per cent.

Ontario’s three nuclear plants with eighteen operating units provide approximately 13 GW of capacity or 37 per cent of installed electricity generation capacity. According to Ontario’s December 2013 energy plan, 10 of those units will be refurbished by 2031.

OPG will begin a major refurbishment at the Darlington nuclear station in 2016. The Darlington plant houses four CANDU reactors and produces between 25 and 29 terawatt hours of electricity per year, or about 18 to 20 per cent of Ontario’s total annual electricity demand. The four reactors are the largest CANDU reactors in the world and have been in operation for almost 25 years. Unit 2 entered service in 1990, Unit 1 in 1992, and Units 3 and 4 in 1993. The refurbishments will begin with Unit 2 which will be temporarily removed from service in 2016.

The refurbishment of units 1 and 2 at the Bruce nuclear station was completed in 2012. Less extensive life extension work was completed on units 3 and 4 in 2004. Bruce Power and the Ontario Power Authority are negotiating terms for the refurbishment of units 5-8.

All six operating units at Pickering, OPG’s other nuclear station, are scheduled for retirement in 2020. Four of the eight units at Pickering were voluntarily shut down in 1997. Two of those units were returned to service in the early 2000s while two other units have remained shut down.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Le protocole d’entente visant le partage de capacité entre le Québec et l’Ontario favorise la remise à neuf de centrales nucléaires

Date de diffusion : 2015-09-30

L’Ontario et le Québec ont signé un protocole d’entente visant l’échange saisonnier d’une capacité de 500 mégawatts (MW) d’électricité pendant la période du 1er décembre 2015 au 30 septembre 2025. Conformément à ce protocole d’entente, le Québec et l’Ontario auront accès à 500 MW d’électricité selon la saison : le Québec, pendant les mois hivernaux (de décembre à mars) et l’Ontario, pendant les mois estivaux (de juin à septembre). Le protocole d’entente aidera les deux provinces à répondre à des pointes de la demande d’électricité, soit l’hiver dans le cas du Québec et l’été dans le cas de l’Ontario. La situation sera particulièrement avantageuse pendant les travaux de remise à neuf qui sont prévus à des centrales nucléaires.

Capacité de production installée en Ontario, selon le type de combustible, et capacité de production nucléaire, selon la centrale

Sources et description de la figure

Sources : IESO, Ontario Power Generation (OPG) et Bruce Power

Description : Le diagramme circulaire montre la capacité de production installée, selon le type de combustible, pour le mois de juin 2015. En Ontario, cette capacité se chiffre à 34 780 MW. À 12 978 MW, la capacité nucléaire installée représente 37 % de toute la capacité de production installée et la moitié (49 %) de ce pourcentage est attribuable à Bruce Power. Viennent ensuite Darlington, à 27 %, et Pickering, à 24 %.

Les trois centrales nucléaires de l’Ontario comptent en tout 18 tranches en exploitation, qui produisent environ 13 gigawatts de capacité, soit 37 % de la capacité de production installée de la province. Selon le plan énergétique à long terme 2013 de l’Ontario, 10 des 18 tranches en exploitation seront remises à neuf d’ici 2031.

L’OPG entreprendra d'importants travaux de remise à neuf [anglais seulement] à la centrale de Darlington en 2016. Les quatre réacteurs CANDU de cette centrale produisent chaque année de 25 à 29 terawatts-heure d’électricité, soit l’équivalent de 18 % à 20 % de la demande d’électricité annuelle totale de la province. Il s’agit des quatre plus gros réacteurs CANDU au monde et ils sont en exploitation depuis près de 25 ans : la tranche 2 est entrée en exploitation en 1990, la tranche 1, en 1992, et les tranches 3 et 4, en 1993. Les travaux de remise à neuf débuteront par une mise hors service temporaire de la tranche 2 en 2016.

À la centrale de Bruce, la remise à neuf des tranches 1 et 2 a pris fin en 2012. Les tranches 3 et 4 avaient fait l’objet de travaux de moindre envergure en 2004, afin d’en prolonger la vie utile. Des négociations sont en cours entre Bruce Power et la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité relativement à la remise à neuf des tranches 5 à 8 [anglais seulement] de la centrale.

Il est prévu que les six tranches pouvant être exploitées à Pickering, centrale qui, comme Darlington, appartient à l’OPG, seront mises hors service en 2020 [anglais seulement]. Quatre des huit tranches de la centrale avaient été volontairement fermées en 1997. Des quatre, deux tranches avaient été remises en service au début des années 2000, alors que les deux autres sont demeurées fermées.

 

Date de modification :