Market Snapshot: Cold Weather in the East and Warm Weather in the West impacted Canada’s 2015 Energy Demand


Release Date: 2015-12-10

Space heating generally comprises 60-70 per cent of Canada’s residential energy use and 40-50 per cent of commercial energy useFootnote 1. As a result, variations in weather significantly impact Canadian energy demand, and heating degree days (HDDs)Footnote 2 serve as an important energy use indicator.

HDD data up to November 2015 shows that, compared to 2014, Quebec and Atlantic Canada have had higher HDDs, Ontario has had similar numbers, and western Canadian HDDs have decreased. However, because the majority of Canada’s HDDs occur in the winter, weather patterns during the final month of 2015 will play an important role in determining Canada’s total HDDs and energy use for the year.

Figure Source and Data

Source: Environment Canada

Description: This column chart compares the sum of heating degree days from January to November in 2014 and 2015 for various Canadian cities. St. John’s, Halifax, and Montreal had higher heating degree days in 2015. Toronto, Winnipeg, Calgary, and Vancouver had lower levels in 2015.

Natural gas is a primary fuel for space heating in Canada, and year-to-date natural gas sales figuresFootnote 3 show the impact that weather trends can have on energy use. From January to September 2015, total western Canadian residential and commercial natural gas demand was 3.8 per cent lower than during the same period in 2014. This drop is consistent with lower space heating requirements due to warmer weather in western Canada, which uses natural gas as its primary fuel for heating. Natural gas sales in Quebec and Atlantic Canada’s residential and commercial sectors are nine per cent higher than in 2014, in part reflecting higher HDDs in those provincesFootnote 4.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Incidences du temps froid dans l’est et du temps chaud dans l’ouest sur la demande d’énergie au Canada en 2015

Date de diffusion : 2015-12-10

Le chauffage représente entre 60 % et 70 % de la consommation d’énergie du secteur résidentiel au Canada, et entre 40 % et 50 % dans le secteur commercialNote de bas de page 1. Par conséquent, les écarts de température ont une grande incidence sur la demande d’énergie au pays, et les degrés-jours de chauffage (DJC)Note de bas de page 2 constituent un indicateur important de consommation.

En 2015, les données sur les DJC jusqu’en novembre, quand on les compare à celles pour la même période en 2014, montrent des nombres plus élevés au Canada atlantique et au Québec, à peu près identiques en Ontario et moins élevés dans l’Ouest canadien. Cependant, compte tenu du fait que c’est surtout en hiver que ces journées se manifestent, le dernier mois de 2015 jouera un rôle de premier plan sur le nombre total et la consommation d’énergie globale au Canada pour l’année.

Source et description

Source : Environment Canada

Description : Ce diagramme à colonnes compare le nombre total de DJC de janvier à novembre en 2014 et en 2015 dans diverses villes canadiennes. À St. John’s, Halifax et Montréal, ce nombre a été plus élevé en 2015, tandis qu’il a été inférieur à Toronto, Winnipeg, Calgary et Vancouver.

Le gaz naturel est le principal combustible de chauffage au Canada, et à ce jour cette année, ses ventesNote de bas de page 3 illustrent l’incidence que peuvent avoir sur la consommation les tendances enregistrées pour la température. De janvier à septembre 2015, la demande totale de gaz naturel des secteurs résidentiel et commercial dans l’Ouest canadien a été inférieure de 3,8 % à ce qu’elle avait été pendant la même période en 2014. Ce recul correspond à des besoins de chauffage moins grands en raison de températures plus clémentes, dans un contexte où le gaz naturel est le principal combustible utilisé à cette fin. Pour leur part, les ventes de gaz naturel aux secteurs résidentiel et commercial du Québec et du Canada atlantique sont de 9 % inférieures à celles de 2014, encore une fois en partie le reflet d’un nombre plus élevé de DJC dans l’estNote de bas de page 4.

 

Date de modification :