Market Snapshot: Oil and natural gas production resilient despite price declines


Release date: 2016-04-07

Oil and natural gas prices declined sharply in 2008 and 2015 but production has not followed the price trends. New Canadian drilling activity has decreased markedly, but production has remained resilient.

Sources and Description

Sources: NEB, AER, BCOGC, GLJ, EIA

Description: The graph shows four lines representing oil and natural gas production and prices between 2006 and 2016. Oil production has increased steadily during this period. Natural gas production trended down between 2006 and 2010, leveled off, and started increasing after 2014. While volatile in 2015, it hasn’t dropped below 14 Bcf/d. Oil and natural gas prices have been more volatile, with peaks in early 2008 and sharp drops in mid-2008 and throughout 2014 and 2015.

In June 2014, West Texas Intermediate (WTI), the benchmark price for North American crude oil, was trading at over US$105 per barrel. By December 2015, WTI had fallen to just over US$37 – a decline of nearly 65 per cent. It has traded below the US$40 mark for most of 2016 so far. Similarly, the price of oil dropped sharply starting in mid-2008, losing 70 per cent of its value over the course of 12 months.

Despite those price declines, oil production has not dropped. Declines in conventional and tight oilFootnote 1 production have been more than offset by increasing oil sands production, which is based on large, long-term projects that are less affected by short-term price fluctuations. Oil sand operators are unlikely to shut in production from mines or in situ projectsFootnote 2 because of the high costs and technical difficulties related to doing so. In addition, companies have continued construction on projects that are already progressing and, in one case, a new project has been announced. The new project was applied for by Imperial Oil Ltd. and would produce 50 000 b/d using a modified SAGD process.

Natural gas also has a history of maintaining production levels in the face of significant price declines. In 2008, production fell just three per cent despite a corresponding 70 per cent price decline over the same 12 month period. Technological improvements allowed operators to achieve greater production from each well, meaning less new wells were required to maintain production. More recently, production reached 15.2 Bcf/d in December 2015 despite continued price declines and an average price that month of just US$1.93 per Mcf.

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Résistance de la production pétrolière et gazière malgré la chute des prix


Date de diffusion : 2016-04-07

Les prix du pétrole et du gaz naturel ont connu une baisse marquée en 2008 et 2015, mais la production n’a pas suivi cette tendance. Les nouvelles activités de forage au Canada ont diminué sensiblement, mais la production a tenu le coup.

 

Sources et description

Sources : Office national de l’énergie, AER, BCOGC, GLJ Petroleum Consultants, US Energy Information Administration

Description : Le graphique renferme quatre lignes représentant la production pétrolière et gazière ainsi que les prix entre 2006 et 2016. La production de pétrole a augmenté de façon constante pendant cette période. La production de gaz naturel a connu une tendance à la baisse entre 2006 et 2010, s’est stabilisée puis a commencé à augmenter après 2014. Bien qu’elle ait été instable en 2015, elle n’a pas baissé en-deçà de 14 Gpi³/j. Les prix du pétrole et du gaz naturel ont été plus instables; après avoir atteint des sommets au début de 2008, ils ont diminué de façon très marquée vers le milieu de 2008 et au cours de 2014 et 2015.

En juin 2014, West Texas Intermediate (WTI), le pétrole brut de référence américain, se négociait à plus de 105 $ US le baril. Vers décembre 2015, WTI a chuté à un peu plus de 37 $ US, un recul de presque 65 %. Il est resté sous la marque de 40 $ US pendant la majeure partie de 2016 jusqu’à présent. De même, le prix du pétrole a diminué brusquement à partir du milieu de 2008, perdant 70 % de sa valeur en 12 mois.

En dépit de la chute des prix, la production de pétrole n’a pas diminué. La baisse dans la production du pétrole classique et de réservoirs étanchesNote de bas de page 1 a été plus que neutralisée par la production croissante des sables bitumineux, qui repose sur des projets d’envergure à long terme qui sont moins touchés par la fluctuation des prix à court terme. Les exploitants de sables bitumineux ont moins tendance à interrompre la production dans les gisements ou projets de récupération in situNote de bas de page 2 en raison des coûts élevés et des difficultés techniques que cela entraîne. Les sociétés ont poursuivi la construction de projets en cours et, dans un cas, un nouveau projet a été annoncé. Ce dernier a fait l’objet d’une demande par la Pétrolière Impériale; 50 000 barils par jour seraient produits grâce à un processus modifié de drainage par gravité au moyen de vapeur.

Les niveaux de production du gaz naturel se maintiennent généralement eux aussi malgré la baisse considérable des prix. En 2008, la production est descendue de 3 % seulement en dépit d’une chute correspondante des prix de 70 % pendant la même période de 12 mois. Les progrès technologiques ont permis aux exploitants d’accroître la production de chaque puits et de maintenir la production sans qu’il soit nécessaire de forer de nouveaux puits. En décembre 2015, la production a atteint 15,2 Gpi³/j malgré la baisse continue des prix et un prix moyen mensuel de 1,93 % US le kpi³.

 

Date de modification :