Questions and Answers

Detailed Route Approval Process – Trans Mountain Expansion Project

  1. What has happened since the Detailed Route Process began?
  2. At what stage is Trans Mountain in the approval of the proposed detailed route for the pipeline?
  3. What is a PPBoR?
  4. Can the NEB approve the proposed detailed route in segments rather than in whole?
  5. How can I learn about Trans Mountain's application for the detailed route?
  6. Who can oppose the proposed detailed route of a pipeline?
  7. What is meant by "methods and timing of construction"?
  8. How do I oppose the proposed detailed route and how much time do I have to file my opposition?
  9. What happens after I file my statement of opposition?
  10. Is the information I file public? Does this to the Statement of Opposition?
  11. Can I participate in a detailed route hearing that deals with someone else’s lands?
  12. What if there is no opposition to the proposed detailed route?
  13. When can construction begin?
  14. Can Trans Mountain apply for a Right of Entry Order?

1. What has happened since the Detailed Route Process began?

Trans Mountain began the proposed detailed route process on 9 December 2016 when it filed  with the NEB for approval its proposed form of the Plan, Profile, and Book of Reference (PPBoR) [Filing A80988] and of its proposed section 34 notices for service and publication pursuant to section 33 and section 34 of the NEB Act, and section 50 of the National Energy Board Rules of Practice and Procedure, 1995. Trans Mountain also proposed to file its PPBoR in segments.

On 10 February 2017 [Filing A81698], the NEB approved Trans Mountain’s proposed section 34 notices and sample PPBoR with amendments, and direction for notice and publication requirements. Then Trans Mountain prepared and filed with the Board its actual PPBoR for each segment of the proposed detailed route, published notices in local newspapers along the route twice, and served written notice to landowners whose lands are proposed to be crossed by each segment of the route. These notices and publications included maps and a list of the lands proposed to be crossed by the pipeline. They also explained how to file statements of opposition (SOOs) to the proposed detailed route with the Board.

Per section 34 of the NEB Act, SOOs may be filed by people who anticipate that their lands may be adversely affected by the proposed detailed route of a pipeline, whether their lands are directly on the pipeline route or not. The SOOs must relate to the detailed route, methods of construction or the timing of construction in order to be valid.

When Trans Mountain’s last notice was published on 6 June 2017, a 30-day period began in which SOOs were to be filed with the Board.  Persons whose lands may be impacted by the proposed route must have filed a SOO within the 30-day period.

If a SOO meets these requirements, then the NEB will conduct a public hearing in the area where the relevant lands are located.  For information on who can oppose the proposed detailed route and the grounds that must be set out in the statement of opposition – see question 4 below.

By the end of July 2017, the Board received 452 SOOs from people, companies, municipalities, Indigenous groups or other organizations.

2. At what stage is Trans Mountain in the approval of the proposed detailed route for the pipeline?

Currently, the Board is assessing the statements of opposition it received and over the coming months, will be releasing Hearing Orders for those landowners or affected person who will be receiving a detailed route hearing.

3. What is a PPBoR?

The Plan, Profile, and Book of Reference (PPBoR) is made up of two documents. The Plan and Profile is a drawing of the pipeline as seen from above (aerial view) and from the side (profile view) showing the exact proposed location of the pipeline. The Book of Reference identifies the lands, provides the names of the landowners and land occupants, and shows the dimensions (length, width and total area) of the right-of-way required for the pipeline.

4. Can the NEB approve the proposed detailed route in segments rather than in whole?

Yes, the Board can approve a proposed detailed route in segments. For the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, Trans Mountain has stated it will file the PPBoR in segments. 

5. How can I learn about Trans Mountain's application for the detailed route?

You can find out more about the application by visiting www.neb-one.gc.ca/transmountainexpansion or by visiting the Trans Mountain Detailed Route RegDocs [Folder 3159938], which contains everything filed with the Board about the proposed detailed route.

6. Who can oppose the proposed detailed route of a pipeline?

Unless you are a landowner who has been recently served, the comment period for providing a statement of opposition has passed. If you are a landowner or affected person who was unable to provide a statement of opposition during the comment period, please contact a Process Advisor.

Previously you could oppose the proposed detailed route if you were a landowner who had been served with a notice about the detailed route of the pipeline. You could also oppose if you were a person who anticipates that your lands may be adversely affected by the proposed detailed route of the pipeline.

If you fell into one of the two categories above, you could oppose the proposed detailed route of the pipeline and the methods and timing of the construction of the pipeline.

The detailed route approval process takes into consideration issues related to the exact location, and methods and timing of construction of the pipeline.  It does not reconsider the NEB 's original decision for  the project.

As the section 52 Certificate for the project has been issued, concerns related to the project itself and not the route should be directed to Trans Mountain.

7. What is meant by "methods and timing of construction"?

Methods of construction describes such things as how the company plans to clear the pipeline right-of-way, remove and store the top soil, install the pipeline, and reclaim the lands. Timing of construction could refer to the time of year when the company plans to build the pipeline, and/or the length of time the construction is expected to last.

8. How do I oppose the proposed detailed route and how much time do I have to file my opposition?

As mentioned in #6, unless you are a landowner who has been recently served, the comment period for providing a statement of opposition has passed. If you are a landowner or affected person who was unable to provide a statement of opposition during the comment period, please contact a Process Advisor.

A statement of opposition must include:

  • your interest in the lands that will be crossed or adversely affected by the proposed route; and
  • your reasons for opposing the proposed detailed route which must focus only on  actual pipeline route location, methods of construction, and/or timing of construction of the pipeline.

The NEB Act sets out how much time you have to file your written statement of opposition. A person whose lands are crossed by the pipeline has 30 days from the date they are served notice of the proposed detailed route. A person who anticipates their lands may be adversely affected by the proposed detailed route of the pipeline has 30 days from the date of the last notice’s publication.

These timelines are fixed in the NEB Act so it is important for landowners to file their statements with the Board before the 30-day period expires.

9. What happens after I file my statement of opposition?

The NEB must conduct a detailed route hearing if, within the applicable 30-day period, a statement of opposition is filed containing the information as noted above (in question 6) that meets the requirements of the NEB Act.

If a statement of opposition is later withdrawn, the NEB does not have to hold a detailed route hearing. The NEB can reject statements of opposition that relate to issues outside of its jurisdiction (such as compensation), or that are found to be frivolous, vexatious or not made in good faith.

For more information about compensation, see NEB Landowner Guide Chapter 7: Compensation for Land Use.

10. Is the information I file public? Does this apply to the statement of opposition?

Yes, all information provided to the NEB is considered on the public record and is not confidential. This includes statements of opposition and any supporting documents, such as land drawings. 

When submitting files online through www.neb-one.gc.ca/efile, there is a privacy disclaimer that must be read and understood before anyone submits a file to the Board. This also applies to documents submitted by mail or fax. It reads:

“The Board is authorized to collect, use and disclose personal information in the context of any Board proceeding. Except where confidentiality is granted, all information and documents submitted to the Board as an individual or on behalf of other individuals will be made public. Additionally, any contact information provided may be used to contact you or serve documents on you. 

Under the federal Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, the Regulations Specifying Publicly Available Information state that personal information in a record of a quasi-judicial body (like the Board) is publicly available without consent, provided that the collection, use and disclosure of that information relates directly to the purpose for which the information appears in the record. 

Please read our Important Notices for more information about privacy.”

In some circumstances, the NEB can grant permission for specific filings to be provided confidentially. For this to be done, the person must make a request to the NEB for permission to do so. More information on confidential filing is available here. However, confidential filings are only used for specific pieces of information and are not common during a typical proceeding.

11. Can I participate in a detailed route hearing that deals with someone else’s lands?

Anyone with a legitimate interest may apply to the NEB to participate in the detailed route hearing. You must follow the requirements as described in the Hearing Order that the Board issues for the detailed route hearing. The NEB will decide whether you will to be allowed to participate.

12. What if there is no opposition to the proposed detailed route?

The NEB may approve the PPBoR for those segments of the proposed detailed route that do not have any filed statements of opposition. Trans Mountain will then file the NEB-approved PPBoR with the offices of the appropriate registrar of deeds (or land titles).  Following this Trans Mountain can begin construction on those approved segments of the detailed route.

13. When can construction begin?

Construction of the pipeline in any non-approved segment cannot proceed until the Board approves that segment and the NEB’s approval is filed in the offices of the appropriate registrar of deeds (or land titles). Approval by the Board could result from a settlement made between the landowner and the company or through a Board decision after a detailed route hearing as discussed above.

14. Can Trans Mountain apply for a Right of Entry Order?

Trans Mountain may apply in writing to the NEB asking for a right of entry (ROE) order that would allow them to have an immediate right to enter the lands. If the NEB grants the right of entry order, Trans Mountain must make payment to the landowner and then it has to register, record or file that order at the local land titles or registry office.

Trans Mountain must provide written notice to the landowner if it plans to apply to the NEB for the right of entry to their property. The company must prove to the NEB that it served the landowner with a notice no less than 30 days and no more than 60 days from the date that it will apply to the NEB.

For more information on ROE, see NEB Landowner Guide Chapter 8: Right of Entry.

DETAILED ROUTE APPROVAL PROCESS

Click here to view a larger version of this image.

Date modified:

Questions et réponses

Questions et réponses concernant le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain

  1. Qu’y a-t-il eu de neuf depuis que le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé a commencé?
  2. Où en est actuellement Trans Mountain dans le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé proposé du pipeline?
  3. Que sont les PPLR?
  4. L’Office peut-il approuver le tracé détaillé proposé par tronçons, plutôt qu’en bloc?
  5. Comment puis-je prendre connaissance d’une demande de tracé détaillé présentée par Trans Mountain?
  6. Qui peut s’opposer au tracé détaillé proposé d’un pipeline?
  7. Que veulent dire les expressions « méthodes de construction » et « moments de la construction »?
  8. Comment dois-je m’y prendre pour m’opposer au tracé détaillé proposé et quel est le délai pour le dépôt de ma déclaration d’opposition?
  9. Qu’arrive-t-il après le dépôt de ma déclaration d’opposition?
  10. L’information déposée est-elle rendue publique? Est-ce vrai aussi pour la déclaration d’opposition?
  11. Puis-je participer à une audience concernant le tracé détaillé qui touche les terrains d’une personne autre que moi?
  12. Et si personne ne s’oppose au tracé détaillé proposé?
  13. Quand la construction peut-elle commencer?
  14. Trans Mountain peut-elle présenter une demande en vue d’obtenir une ordonnance de droit d’accès?

1. Qu’y a-t-il eu de neuf depuis que le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé a commencé?

Trans Mountain a amorcé le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé proposé le 9 décembre 2016 en déposant auprès de l’Office ses plan, profil et livre de renvoi (PPLR) [dépôt A80988] ainsi que les versions provisoires des avis de signification et de publication prescrits par l'article 33 et l'article 34 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et l’article 50 des Règles de pratique et de procédure de l’Office national de l’énergie (1995). Trans Mountain a aussi proposé de déposer les PPLR par tranches.

Le 10 février 2017 [Dépôt A81698], l’Office a approuvé les avis et les PPLR exigés par l’article 34 qu’avait proposés Trans Mountain, sous réserve des modifications, et a donné des directives concernant les avis et leur publication. Par la suite, Trans Mountain a préparé les PPLR effectifs pour chaque tronçon du tracé détaillé proposé, qu’elle a déposés auprès de l’Office. Elle a fait paraître à deux reprises les avis dans les journaux des localités situées le long du tracé et a signifié un avis écrit aux propriétaires des terrains sur lesquels passe cette partie du tracé proposé. Les avis signifiés aux propriétaires et ceux parus dans les journaux comprenaient des cartes et une liste des terrains que le pipeline proposé traversera. Ils renfermaient également des instructions sur la façon de déposer une déclaration d’opposition au tracé détaillé auprès de l’Office.

L’article 34 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie stipule que toute personne qui estime que le tracé détaillé proposé d’un pipeline peut nuire à ses terrains, qu’ils soient ou non directement sur le tracé du pipeline, peut s’y opposer. Pour être recevable, la déclaration d’opposition doit porter sur le tracé détaillé ou sur les méthodes de construction ou les moments de la construction du pipeline.

Avec la dernière publication des avis par Trans Mountain, le 6 juin 2017, une période de 30 jours a commencé pour présenter à l’Office une déclaration d’opposition au tracé. Les personnes estimant que le tracé proposé pouvait nuire à leurs terrains devaient se prévaloir de leur droit d’opposition durant cette période.

Si la déclaration satisfait aux exigences, l’Office tiendra une audience publique dans la région où se trouvent les terrains en question. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la façon de s’opposer au tracé détaillé et les motifs à exposer dans la déclaration d’opposition, veuillez consulter la question 4 ci-dessous.

À la fin de juillet 2017, l’Office avait reçu 452 déclarations d’opposition de particuliers, de sociétés, de municipalités, de groupes autochtones ou d’autres organisations.

2. Où en est actuellement Trans Mountain dans le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé proposé du pipeline?

Les plan, profil et livre de renvoi (PPLR) sont constitués de deux documents. Il s’agit des dessins du pipeline en vues aérienne et latérale, illustrant avec précision l’emplacement prévu. Le livre de renvoi décrit les terrains où le pipeline devrait passer, renferme les noms de leurs propriétaires ou occupants des terrains et indique les dimensions (longueur, largeur et superficie totale) de l’emprise nécessaire aux travaux d’aménagement.

3. Que sont les PPLR?

Les plan, profil et livre de renvoi (PPLR) sont constitués de deux documents. Il s’agit des dessins du pipeline en vues aérienne et latérale, illustrant avec précision l’emplacement prévu. Le livre de renvoi décrit les terrains où le pipeline devrait passer, renferme les noms de leurs propriétaires ou occupants des terrains et indique les dimensions (longueur, largeur et superficie totale) de l’emprise nécessaire aux travaux d’aménagement.

4. L’Office peut-il approuver le tracé détaillé proposé par tronçons, plutôt qu’en bloc?

Oui, l’Office peut approuver un tracé détaillé proposé par tronçons. Dans le cas du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, la société a déclaré qu’elle déposerait les PPLR par tranches.

5. Comment puis-je prendre connaissance d’une demande de tracé détaillé présentée par Trans Mountain?

Vous pouvez vous renseigner sur la demande dans le site Web de l’Office, à l’adresse www.neb-one.gc.ca/agrandissement-transmountain, ou consulter le dossier relatif au tracé détaillé de Trans Mountain dans l’application RegDocs [Dossier 3159938]. C’est là que sont conservés tous les documents qui ont été déposés auprès de l’Office sur ce projet.

6. Qui peut s’opposer au tracé détaillé proposé d’un pipeline?

À moins que vous ne soyez un propriétaire de terrains à qui un avis a été signifié, la période pour présenter une déclaration d’opposition est passée. Si vous êtes un propriétaire de terrains ou une personne touchée par le tracé et n’avez pas été en mesure de transmettre une déclaration d’opposition durant la période prévue à cette fin, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe de conseillers en processus.

Plus tôt dans le processus, vous pouviez vous opposer au tracé détaillé proposé si vous étiez un propriétaire de terrains à qui un avis avait été signifié au sujet du tracé détaillé du pipeline. Vous pouviez également vous y opposer si vous estimiez que le tracé détaillé proposé du pipeline pouvait nuire à vos terrains.

Si vous faites partie de l’une ou l’autre de ces catégories, vous pouviez vous opposer au tracé détaillé proposé du pipeline, ainsi qu’aux méthodes de construction et aux moments de la construction.

Le processus relatif au tracé détaillé vise à étudier les questions relatives à l’emplacement précis du pipeline, aux méthodes de construction et aux moments de la construction. Ce processus ne remet pas en cause la décision initiale de l’Office à l’égard du projet.

Puisqu’un certificat exigé par l’article 52 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie a déjà été délivré, les préoccupations qui ont trait au projet lui-même, et non au tracé, doivent être adressées à Trans Mountain.

7. Que veulent dire les expressions « méthodes de construction » et « moments de la construction »?

L’expression « méthodes de construction » désigne les activités comme le débroussaillement de l’emprise, l’enlèvement et le stockage de la terre végétale, l’installation de la canalisation et la remise en état des terrains. L’expression « moments de la construction » est employée pour désigner aussi bien la période de l’année durant laquelle la société envisage d’exécuter des travaux de construction que la durée prévue de ceux-ci.

8. Comment dois-je m’y prendre pour m’opposer au tracé détaillé proposé et quel est le délai pour le dépôt de ma déclaration d’opposition?

Comme cela est indiqué à la question 6, à moins que vous soyez un propriétaire de terrains à qui un avis a été signifié, la période pour présenter une déclaration d’opposition est terminée. Si vous êtes un propriétaire de terrains ou une personne touchée par le tracé et n’avez pas été en mesure de transmettre une déclaration d’opposition durant la période prévue à cette fin, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe de conseillers en processus.

Votre déclaration d’opposition doit indiquer :

  • la nature de votre intérêt dans les terrains que le tracé proposé traversera ou auxquels il nuira;
  • les raisons qui motivent votre opposition au tracé détaillé, soit l’emplacement concret du tracé, les méthodes de construction ou les moments de la construction du pipeline. 

La Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie précise les délais à respecter pour transmettre une déclaration écrite d’opposition. Une personne dont les terrains sont traversés par le pipeline dispose de 30 jours à partir de la signification de l’avis relatif au tracé détaillé proposé pour transmettre sa déclaration. Une personne qui estime que le tracé détaillé proposé peut nuire à ses terrains dispose de 30 jours à partir de la date de la dernière publication de l’avis pour s’opposer au tracé.

Ces délais étant fixés par la loi, il est important que les propriétaires de terrains s’y conforment.

9. Qu’arrive-t-il après le dépôt de ma déclaration d’opposition?

Si l’Office reçoit, dans le délai de 30 jours prévu, une déclaration d’opposition renfermant les renseignements mentionnés ci-dessus (question 6) et satisfaisant aux exigences de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, il doit tenir une audience sur le tracé détaillé.

L’Office n’a pas à tenir une telle audience si l’opposition est retirée ultérieurement. L’Office peut ne pas tenir compte d’une déclaration d’opposition si elle porte sur une question sur laquelle il n’exerce pas de compétence (par exemple, l’indemnisation) ou si elle lui semble futile, vexatoire ou dénuée de bonne foi.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’indemnisation, veuillez consulter le chapitre 7 : Indemnisation pour l’utilisation des terrains du Guide de l’Office à l’intention des propriétaires fonciers.

10. L’information déposée est-elle rendue publique? Est-ce vrai aussi pour la déclaration d’opposition?

Oui, tous les renseignements qui sont présentés à l’Office sont considérés comme publics et non confidentiels. Cela comprend les déclarations d’opposition et les documents connexes, comme les dessins.

Avant de déposer des documents auprès de l’Office par voie électronique dans son portail (www.neb-one.gc.ca/efile), vous devez lire et vous assurer de comprendre l’avertissement relatif à la confidentialité. Il en va de même pour ce qui est des documents transmis par courrier ou télécopieur. L’avertissement se lit comme suit :

« L’Office national de l’énergie est autorisé à recueillir, utiliser et communiquer des renseignements personnels dans le contexte de ses instances. Sauf en présence d’un engagement de non-divulgation, toute l’information et l’ensemble des documents déposés auprès de l’Office par une personne ou en son nom seront rendus publics. Par ailleurs, les coordonnées fournies peuvent servir à communiquer avec la personne ou à lui signifier des documents. 

Le Règlement précisant les renseignements auxquels le public a accès pris en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques stipule que les renseignements personnels qui figurent dans un dossier ou document d’un organisme quasi judiciaire, comme l’Office, sont accessibles au public si la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de ces renseignements sont directement liés à la raison pour laquelle ils figurent dans le dossier ou document.

Veuillez prendre connaissance de nos Avis importants pour plus de détails au sujet de notre politique de confidentialité. » 

Dans certains cas, l’Office pourrait autoriser que des documents précis soient déposés confidentiellement. Pour obtenir une telle autorisation, il faut présenter une demande à l’Office. Vous trouverez un complément d’information à ce sujet en cliquant ici. Prenez note que seuls certains renseignements sont visés par cette mesure et qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une pratique courante dans le contexte d’une instance type.

11. Puis-je participer à une audience concernant le tracé détaillé qui touche les terrains d’une personne autre que moi?

Toute personne qui a un intérêt légitime peut demander à l’Office de participer à une telle audience. Vous devez respecter les exigences décrites dans l’ordonnance d’audience rendue par l’Office pour l’audience en question. Il reviendra à l’Office de décider si vous pouvez participer à cette dernière.

12. Et si personne ne s’oppose au tracé détaillé proposé?

L’Office peut approuver les PPLR visant les tronçons du tracé détaillé proposé qui ne font pas l’objet d’une déclaration d’opposition.Trans Mountain présentera ensuite les PPLR approuvés au conservateur des titres de propriété (ou au bureau d’enregistrement des titres fonciers). Dès ce moment, elle pourra entreprendre les travaux de construction des tronçons dont le tracé détaillé a été approuvé.

13. Quand la construction peut-elle commencer?

La construction d’un tronçon dont le tracé n’a pas été approuvé ne peut commencer avant que l’Office n’ait approuvé ce tronçon et que cette autorisation n’ait été présentée au conservateur des titres de propriété (ou au bureau d’enregistrement de titres fonciers) approprié. L’Office pourrait accorder son approbation à la suite d’un règlement survenu entre le propriétaire des terrains et la société ou d’une décision de sa part rendue au terme d’une audience sur le tracé détaillé.

14. Trans Mountain peut-elle présenter une demande en vue d’obtenir une ordonnance de droit d’accès?

Trans Mountain peut présenter à l’Office, par écrit, une demande sollicitant une ordonnance qui lui accorderait un droit d’accès immédiat aux terrains. Si l’Office rend une telle ordonnance, Trans Mountain doit verser une indemnité au propriétaire du terrain et présenter l’ordonnance pour enregistrement ou dépôt, selon le cas, au bureau local d’enregistrement des titres fonciers.

Elle doit aviser le propriétaire du terrain par écrit de son intention de s’adresser à l’Office pour obtenir un droit d’accès à son terrain. La société doit prouver à l’Office qu’elle a signifié cet avis au propriétaire du terrain au moins 30 jours et au plus 60 jours avant la date de sa demande à l’Office.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le droit d’accès, veuillez consulter le chapitre 8 : Droit d’accès.

PROCESSUS D’APPROBATION DU TRACÉ DÉTAILLÉ

Cliquez ici pour agrandir l’image

Date de modification :