Emergency Preparedness in the Federal Government

Emergency situations may occur at any time and at any place. It is essential that the federal government be prepared to continue to operate effectively during crises and continue to ensure public safety, continue critical services, and maintain uninterrupted direction and control capabilities.

The Emergency Management Act sets out the leadership role and responsibilities of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, including coordinating emergency management activities among government institutions and in cooperation with the provinces and other entities. The federal government, provinces and territories developed An Emergency Management Framework for Canada which establishes a common approach for a range of collaborative emergency management initiatives in support of safe and resilient communities.

Public Safety Canada created the Federal Emergency Response Plan (FERP), a high level plan which organizes all federal response plans.  These are designed to ensure emergency response processes are delivered, and that they will be carried out in an effective, coordinated and efficient manner in the event of a national emergency.

The National Energy Board (NEB) is designated as a support agency to Natural Resources Canada in the provision of energy related emergency response activities at a national level.

To this end, the NEB works in collaboration with other federal government institutions, provincial and territorial emergency management organizations, first responders, other stakeholders and communities in support of the overall emergency management system across the country.

The NEB has a Strategic Emergency Management Plan that describes how the NEB prevents, mitigates, prepares, responds and recovers from emergencies or events as a regulatory body, as a federal department, and as a support organization to the whole-of-government response.

For more information on emergency management and the federal government, please visit www.publicsafety.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Préparation aux situations d’urgence au gouvernement fédéral

Des situations d’urgence peuvent survenir n’importe quand et n’importe où. Il est essentiel que le gouvernement fédéral soit prêt à continuer de fonctionner efficacement en temps de crise et à assurer sans interruption la sécurité du public, entre autres choses en maintenant les services essentiels et en conservant en tout temps le contrôle de la situation.

La Loi sur la gestion des urgences définit le rôle de premier plan et les responsabilités du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, qui consistent notamment à coordonner, au sein des institutions fédérales et en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux ou d’autres entités, les activités de gestion des urgences. Le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces et les territoires ont élaboré un cadre de sécurité civile pour le Canada, en vue d’établir une démarche commune pour un ensemble d’initiatives de gestion des urgences en collaboration, au bénéfice de collectivités sures et résilientes.

Sécurité publique Canada a produit le Plan fédéral d’intervention d’urgence, à l’origine des plans d’intervention fédéraux à un haut niveau. De tels plans sont conçus afin que des processus d’intervention soient en place et déployés de façon efficace, coordonnée et efficiente en cas d’urgence nationale.

L’Office national de l’énergie est désigné organisme de soutien de Ressources naturelles Canada dans le contexte d’activités d’intervention d’urgence mettant en cause l’énergie à l’échelle nationale.

C’est ainsi que l’Office collabore avec d’autres organisations fédérales, provinciales et territoriales de gestion des urgences, des premiers intervenants, de même que différentes parties prenantes et communautés, dans le contexte d’un système de gestion des urgences global pancanadien.

L’Office dispose d’un plan stratégique de gestion des urgences qui décrit comment il s’emploie à prévenir des situations de ce type, à les atténuer, à intervenir en cas de besoin et à faciliter la relance en sa qualité d’organisme de réglementation, au palier fédéral, ainsi que comme organisation de soutien pour l’ensemble du gouvernement en situation d’intervention.

Pour un complément d’information sur la gestion des urgences et le gouvernement fédéral : www.securitepublique.gc.ca.

 

Date de modification :