NEB's Regulatory Framework

  1. Overview
  2. Lifecycle Compliance Monitoring
  3. Compliance Verification
  4. Enforcement
  5. Responding to Emergencies
  6. Conclusion

I. Overview

The National Energy Board (NEB) promotes safety and security, environmental protection and efficient energy infrastructure and markets in the Canadian public interest.

In order to deliver on its mandate, the NEB has put a regulatory framework in place to promote safety and security, environmental protection and efficient energy infrastructure and markets in the Canadian public interest. The regulatory framework has the following components:

  • sets expectations of industry and others
  • monitors compliance with requirements
  • enforces requirements
  • measures performance of the NEB’s regulatory framework
  • focuses on continual improvement of the regulatory framework

Goals

The NEB has set four Goals for the regulation of pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. They are:

  1. NEB-regulated facilities and activities are safe and secure.
  2. The environment is protected throughout the lifecycle of NEB-regulated facilities and activities.
  3. Canadians benefit from efficient energy infrastructure and markets.
  4. The rights and interests of those affected by NEB-regulated facilities and activities are respected.

Flowing out of these goals are the NEB’s management and protection compliance programs. The NEB organizes itself and its regulatory activities under these programs which are mirrored in the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR).

These compliance programs are:

Goal 1: Safety and Security

  • Safety Management Program
  • Integrity Management Program
  • Emergency Management Program
  • Damage Prevention Program
  • Security Program

Goal 2: Environmental Protection Program

Regulations

NEB Approach to the Design of RegulationNEB regulation is focused on outcomes and is as specific as necessary:

  1. It starts by defining the safety and security, environmental protection and economic efficiency outcomes to be achieved. This approach requires regulated companies to determine the means to achieve the outcomes to effectively manage risk. This approach also encourages innovation and the use of the most appropriate technology.
  2. It then sets the necessary management processes, operational standards and reporting requirements to achieve the desired outcomes.

Management System Approach in NEB Regulations
The NEB is of the view that carefully designed and well-implemented management systems are the fundamental method to be used by industry to keep people safe and protect the environment. A “management system” means the system set out in sections 6.1 to 6.6 of the OPR. It is a systematic approach designed to effectively manage and reduce risk. It includes the necessary organizational structures, resources, accountabilities, policies, processes and procedures for an organization to fulfil all tasks related to safety, security and environmental protection.

II. Lifecycle Compliance Monitoring

The Board monitors and enforces compliance with requirements concerning the safety and protection of employees, the public, and the environment, as they may be affected throughout the life of a project.

Pipeline Lifecycle

Phase one: planning and application assessment

In the planning and application assessment phase of the project, the NEB assesses whether the project is in the public interest and can be built and operated safely and in a manner that protects the environment. The NEB assessment includes an evaluation of:

  • compliance with design, construction and environmental protection requirements which include:
    • requirements outlined in statutes and regulations
    • commitments by regulated companies including those made during an application process
    • the protection of navigation and the promotion of safe navigation
    • any measures to avoid, mitigate, or offset fish and fish habitat impacts
    • DFO referral where a Fisheries Act Authorization may be required
    • any measures to avoid, mitigate, or offset impacts on listed species and their critical habitat under SARA
    • notification of the competent Minister whenever a SARA species is likely to be impacted
    • terms and conditions on approvals
    • other direction provided by the NEB from time to time
  • the capacity of the regulated company to develop required safety, security and environmental protection programs and systems.
  • the risks posed to people or effects on the environment by the project plans and whether these risks will be prevented, managed and mitigated through appropriate planning

If a project is approved, the NEB will impose terms and conditions to mitigate the risks and effects posed by the project.

Phase two: construction

In the construction phase of a project, the NEB monitors and verifies compliance with construction-related requirements. Specifically, the NEB:

  • Reviews and approves key company program manuals which typically address:
    1. Joining
    2. Pressure Testing
    3. Quality Assurance/Quality Control of Materials
    4. Construction Safety
    5. Environmental Protection Plan
    6. Emergency Procedures
    Manuals are used by a regulated company to communicate requirements to its staff and contractors. Depending on the nature of the project, the NEB may require other types of manuals for the project. The purpose of this review is to verify compliance with requirements. This assessment is often done before a facility is permitted to begin operation; manuals can also be reviewed as part of annual compliance verification activities.
  • Conducts on-site construction inspections. Inspections during construction focus on pipeline integrity, worker safety and environmental protection.

Phase three: operation

In the operation phase of a project, the NEB monitors and verifies compliance with operation-related requirements. Specifically, the NEB:

  • holds compliance meetings with regulated companies to exchange information, verify compliance, assess implementation of requirements and provide critical feedback to senior executives on aspects of their programs and systems
  • audits regulated companies’ management and protection programs and systems to assess the adequacy and implementation of system elements such as:
    • policies and performance objectives
    • proactive identification of hazards, evaluation of risk and risk mitigation
    • clarity of responsibilities and accountabilities
    • training and competency of personnel
    • documentation management, reporting, evaluation and continual improvement
  • inspects facilities to assess compliance with requirements in all program areas
  • reviews and approve key documents (e.g., regulated company program manuals)
  • evaluates regulated company emergency response exercises for the ability to respond to an emergency

Conducting audits, inspections and compliance meetings, are key tools the NEB uses to regulate a company’s safety culture and system effectiveness. Effective systems provide a strong foundation for a pervasive culture of safety and the NEB expects that company safety systems are: forcefully affirmed by the organization’s leadership; rigorously documented in writing; known to all employees involved in safety and environmental protection; and consistently implemented in the field.

Phase four: deactivation, decommissioning or abandonment

In the deactivation, decommissioning or abandonment phase, the NEB assesses whether the applied-for plan can be conducted safely and whether risks to people or the environment can be reduced or avoided. Specifically, the NEB:

  • assesses a deactivation plan for maintaining the facility in order that it will be fit for service in the future
  • inspects decommissioning and abandonment activities to assess compliance with requirements

III. Compliance Verification

Once a project is approved, the NEB will monitor and verify compliance with requirements during construction, operation and abandonment. The NEB also investigates compliance as a result of complaints, reports of high-risk activity or incidents.

Risk-Informed Approach to Monitoring Compliance

The NEB evaluates regulated companies and their facilities and installations via a risk model to determine appropriate compliance verification activities. This evaluation includes:

  1. identification of potential consequences to people and the environment posed by facilities or an installation, based on its location, type, age, operating history, etc.
  2. a review of historical information on the company’s or operator’s management of these consequences collected through previous compliance monitoring activities

Compliance Verification Toolkit

The NEB may use the tools outlined below to verify compliance.

Audit
An audit is a systematic evaluation of management systems, including programs, practices, procedures, plans, processes, manuals, records, systems, and activities. The objective is to verify compliance with requirements using a Management and Protection Program Evaluation and Audit Protocol. After being audited, a corrective action plan may be required to resolve findings of non-compliance within specific time limits.

Inspection
An inspection is an on-site, methodical examination and assessment of regulated activities or operations against requirements. Inspections may occur at any time during the life of a project.

Compliance Meetings
The NEB conducts compliance work through meetings with regulated companies. These meetings can involve:

  • Regulated Company Manual and Report Reviews
    Regulated companies submit their manuals and post-construction environmental reports to the NEB for review. This assessment is often done before a facility is permitted to begin operation or manuals can be reviewed as part of annual compliance verification activities.
  • Annual Operator Safety and Environmental Reports
    Under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, operators must submit Annual Safety and Environmental Reports.
  • Emergency Response Exercise Evaluation
    An emergency response exercise evaluation is an on-site evaluation of the regulated company or operator’s capability to respond to an emergency in accordance with its procedures and plans.
  • Emergency Procedures Manual Review
    This review is often done when a company submits updates to their Emergency Procedures Manuals or before a regulated-company is permitted to begin operations.

Investigation
The NEB investigates all incidents to determine cause and contributing factors leading to the incident. For serious incidents, such as a pipeline leak or rupture, NEB experts are often dispatched to the site of the incident to monitor the regulated company activities, to assess whether appropriate actions are being taken, and determine whether and when the facility or installation may be safely returned to service.

Response to concerns and complaints
The NEB may respond to complaints it receives on any matter for which it has a mandate to conduct activities and may conduct an investigation as a result of a landowner complaint.

IV. Enforcement

The NEB detects non-compliance through:

  • conducting compliance verification activities
  • through an investigation as a result of either an incident or a high-risk activity

The following tools can be used to obtain compliance, deter future non-compliance, and prevent harm:

  • Letter/notice
    The NEB will often provide notice that certain activities could lead to non-compliance or that it intends to investigate suspected areas of non-compliance. The most common form of this type of notice is the Board’s Safety Advisories.
  • Corrected Non-Compliance (CNC)
    A CNC is used when non-compliances observed in the field were addressed while the inspection officer was on-site. This tool is used when there is minimal safety risk or environmental harm as a result of the non-compliance and it is corrected immediately in the field. The non-compliance will be noted in the inspection report along with the corrective measures that were taken to return to compliance.
  • Notice of Non-Compliance (NNC)
    An NNC is a written undertaking issued by the inspection officer to a NEB-regulated company or third party when non-compliance with a low probability of harm to people or the environment is observed, and time is required to address the issue. It is intended to bring compliance issues to the attention of the company/individual, in order to generate the necessary action to return to compliance. The inspection officer will determine an effective corrective action, consult with the regulated company, and propose a reasonable timeline to correct the non-compliance. It is not a finding of guilt or civil liability, but will form part of the NEB’s records when planning its compliance verification activities and determining what enforcement action to take for future or re-occurring non-compliances.
  • Corrective Action Plans
    Corrective Action Plans are developed by regulated companies in response to audit findings of non-compliance or specific requests of the NEB. These plans must contain time commitments and be approved by the Board.
  • Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMP)
    An AMP is a financial penalty imposed on individuals or companies in response to contravention of legislative requirements to promote safety and environmental protection.
  • Orders
    The NEB has authority to enforce certain requirements or restrict operations through the use of Board Orders. Orders that restrict operations are commonly referred to as Safety Orders. In addition, designated Officers have the authority to direct and, in some situations, order parties to correct non-compliance.
  • Revocation of authorization
    If the NEB has lost confidence in the ability of a company to operate safely or in a manner that protects the environment, it may consider revoking an authorization that enables the company’s operation.
  • Disallow or Suspend Tariff
    If the NEB finds that the tolls and tariffs applied for or in place are not just and reasonable or are unjustly discriminatory, the NEB has authority to suspend or disallow the toll or tariff.
  • Prosecution
    It is an offence to contravene certain provisions of the NEB Act, COGOA and CLC, Part II. If serious offences are discovered, the NEB may refer the details of the offence to the Office of the Attorney General of Canada for prosecution. A Board Order can also be made an order of the Federal Court for the purpose of enforcement.

V. Responding to Emergencies

The NEB’s priorities in any emergency are the safety of people and the protection of property and the environment. The NEB has an Emergency Management Program in place and is ready to respond to an emergency situation at all times. The NEB develops working agreements with other government departments and agencies to: coordinate responses; deal with overlapping and adjoining jurisdictions; identify common regulatory objectives; and communicate effectively. 

Anytime there is a serious incident at an NEB-regulated facility, the NEB will monitor and oversee the company’s immediate and ongoing response and eventual clean-up. The NEB requires that all reasonable actions are taken to protect employees, the public and the environment. Further, the NEB verifies that the regulated company conducts an adequate and appropriate clean-up and remediation of any environmental effects caused by the incident.

VI. Conclusion

The NEB promotes safety, security and environmental protection through its compliance programs. The objective of these programs is to monitor compliance with the NEB’s requirements and enforce them as necessary.

Date modified:

Cadre de réglementation de l’Office

  1. Aperçu
  2. Surveillance de la conformité durant le cycle des installations
  3. Vérification de la conformité
  4. Application de la loi
  5. Interventions en cas d’urgence
  6. Conclusion

I. Aperçu

Le mandat de l’Office national de l’énergie est de promouvoir, dans l’intérêt public canadien, la sûreté et la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience de l’infrastructure et des marchés énergétiques.

Pour exécuter son mandat, l’Office a mis en place un cadre de réglementation pour promouvoir, dans l’intérêt public canadien, la sûreté et la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience de l’infrastructure et des marchés énergétiques. Ce cadre de réglementation comprend les éléments suivants :

  • l’établissement d’attentes à l’endroit du secteur de l’énergie et des autres acteurs;
  • la surveillance du respect des exigences;
  • l’application des exigences;
  • la mesure des résultats du cadre de réglementation de l’Office;
  • l’insistance sur l’amélioration constante du cadre de réglementation.

Buts

L’Office a fixé les quatre buts suivants en matière de réglementation des pipelines, de mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et de commerce de l’énergie dans l’intérêt du public canadien :

  1. Les installations et activités réglementées par l’Office sont sûres et sécuritaires.
  2. L’environnement est protégé pendant tout le cycle de vie des installations et activités réglementées par l’Office.
  3. La population canadienne profite d’une infrastructure et de marchés énergétiques efficients.
  4. Les droits ainsi que les intérêts des personnes touchées par les installations et activités réglementées par l’Office sont respectés.

De ces buts découlent des programmes de conformité en matière de gestion et la protection. La structure interne et les activités de l’Office au titre de la réglementation dans le cadre de ces programmes reflètent les exigences du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT).

Ces programmesont les suivants :

But 1 : Sécurité et sûreté

  • Programme de gestion de la sécurité
  • Programme de gestion de l’intégrité
  • Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence
  • Programme de prévention des dommages
  • Programme de sûreté

But 2 : Programme de protection de l’environnement

Réglementation

Démarche de l'ONÉ dans la conception de la réglementationLa réglementation de l’Office est axée sur les résultats et est adaptée aux besoins :

  1. Au départ, l’Office définit les résultats précis à atteindre en matière de sécurité et sûreté, de protection de l’environnement et d’efficience économique. Cette démarche exige des sociétés réglementées qu’elles choisissent les moyens pour gérer les risques efficacement. Elle favorise également l’innovation et l’utilisation de la technologie qui convient le mieux.
  2. L’Office établit ensuite les processus de gestion, les normes d’exploitation et les exigences en matière de déclaration pour atteindre les résultats escomptés.

Démarche de la réglementation de l’Office axée sur les systèmes de gestion
L’Office estime que des systèmes de gestion bien pensés et soigneusement mis en œuvre constituent la méthode fondamentale que le secteur doit utiliser pour assurer la sécurité des personnes et la protection de l’environnement. Un « système de gestion » est un système au sens des articles 6.1 à 6.6 du RPT. Il s’agit d’une démarche systématique conçue pour gérer et réduire le risque de façon efficace. Il correspond à l’ensemble des structures organisationnelles, des ressources, des responsabilités, des politiques, des processus et des procédures dont dispose une organisation pour s’acquitter de toutes ses tâches relatives à la sécurité, à la sûreté et à la protection de l’environnement.

II. Surveillance de la conformité durant le cycle des installations

L’Office assure la surveillance de la conformité et l’exécution des exigences relatives à la sécurité et à la protection des travailleurs, du public et de l’environnement pendant tout le cycle de vie d’un projet.

cycle de vie d'un projet

Première étape : planification et audience publique

À l’étape de la planification et de l’examen d’une demande d’autorisation, l’Office évalue si le projet est dans l’intérêt public et s’il peut être réalisé et exploité de façon sécuritaire et en protégeant l’environnement. Cet examen de l’Office consiste à évaluer :

  • le respect des normes de conception, de construction et de protection de l’environnement, soit :
    • les exigences énoncées dans les lois et les règlements;
    • les engagements des sociétés réglementées, y compris ceux pris pendant le processus de demande d’autorisation;
    • la sécurité de la navigation et la promotion de la navigation sûre;
    • les mesures pour éviter et atténuer les répercussions sur le poisson ou l’habitat du poisson ou compenser ces effets;
    • le renvoi au MPO, lorsqu’une autorisation en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches est requise;
    • les mesures pour éviter et atténuer les répercussions sur les espèces répertoriées en vertu de la LEP et leur habitat essentiel ou pour compenser ces effets;
    • l’envoi d’un avis au ministre compétent quand une espèce inscrite à la liste de la LEP est susceptible d’être touchée;
    • les conditions rattachées aux approbations;
    • les autres directives fournies par l’Office à l’occasion;
  • la capacité des sociétés réglementées de mettre en place les programmes et les systèmes exigés en matière de sécurité, de sûreté et de protection de l’environnement;
  • les risques pour les personnes ou les effets environnementaux qui ressortent des plans du projet et s’il existe des moyens de prévenir, de gérer et d’atténuer les risques par une bonne planification.

Quand l’Office approuve un projet, il l’assortit de conditions visant à atténuer les risques et les effets qui s’y rattachent.

Deuxième étape : construction

À l’étape de la construction d’un projet, l’Office vérifie si les exigences liées à la construction sont respectées. De façon plus précise, cela consiste en ce qui suit :

  • des examens et l’autorisation des principaux manuels de programmes des sociétés, en particulier ceux portant sur :
    1. le jointoiement;
    2. les essais de pression;
    3. l’assurance de la qualité et le contrôle de la qualité des matériaux;
    4. la sécurité pendant la construction;
    5. le plan de protection de l’environnement;
    6. les mesures d’urgence.
    Les manuels servent aux sociétés réglementées à communiquer les exigences à leurs employés et leurs entrepreneurs. Selon la nature du projet, l’Office peut exiger d’autres types de manuels. Cet examen vise à vérifier si la société s’est conformée aux exigences. Il est souvent réalisé avant la mise en service d’une installation, mais il peut aussi se dérouler dans le cadre d’activités annuelles de vérification de la conformité.
  • des inspections sur les chantiers de construction : Les inspections menées durant la construction portent principalement sur l’intégrité du pipeline, la sécurité des travailleurs et la protection de l’environnement.

Troisième étape : exploitation

Durant l’exploitation d’un projet, l’Office vérifie si les exigences opérationnelles sont respectées. De façon plus précise, cela consiste en ce qui suit :

  • des réunions sur la conformité avec des représentants des sociétés réglementées pour échanger de l’information, vérifier le respect des exigences, évaluer la mise en application de celles-ci et fournir à la haute direction une rétroaction essentielle sur divers aspects des programmes et des systèmes de la société;
  • des vérifications des programmes et des systèmes de gestion et de protection des sociétés réglementées, afin d’évaluer la pertinence et la mise en œuvre d’éléments comme :
    • des politiques et des objectifs de rendement;
    • la détection proactive des dangers, l’évaluation et l’atténuation des risques;
    • la clarification des responsabilités et des obligations relatives à la reddition de compte;
    • la formation et la compétence du personnel;
    • la gestion des documents, la production de rapports, l’évaluation et l’amélioration constante;
  • des inspections des installations pour vérifier si les exigences sont respectées dans tous les aspects touchés par les programmes;
  • l’examen et l’autorisation des principaux documents (p. ex. les manuels de programmes des sociétés réglementées);
  • l’évaluation des exercices d’intervention en cas d’urgence des sociétés réglementées, afin de connaître la capacité de celle-ci d’intervenir dans de telles situations.

Les audits, les inspections et les réunions de conformité procurent à l’Office des outils précieux pour réglementer la culture de sécurité et l’efficacité des systèmes d’une société. Des systèmes efficaces forment une solide assise en vue d’instaurer une culture de sécurité, et l’Office s’attend à ce que les systèmes de sécurité soient soutenus avec fermeté par les dirigeants de l’organisation, rigoureusement documentés par écrit, connus de tous les employés qui jouent un rôle dans la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement et sans cesse mis en œuvre sur le terrain.

Quatrième étape : désactivation, désaffectation et cessation d’exploitation

À l’étape de la désactivation, de la désaffectation ou de la cessation d’exploitation, l’Office détermine si le plan déposé peut être réalisé de façon sécuritaire et si les risques pour les personnes et l’environnement peuvent être réduits ou évités. De façon plus précise, cela consiste en ce qui suit :

  • l’évaluation du plan de désactivation en vue de maintenir l’installation dans un état de préparation permettant sa remise en service ultérieure;
  • l’inspection des activités de désaffectation et de cessation d’exploitation pour vérifier leur respect des exigences.

III. Vérification de la conformité

Après l’autorisation d’un projet, l’Office vérifie si les exigences réglementaires durant la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation sont respectées. Il enquête également pour vérifier la conformité à la suite de plaintes, de signalements d’activités à haut risque ou d’incidents.

Approche fondée sur le risque en matière de surveillance de la conformité

L’Office mène un examen des sociétés réglementées et de leurs installations dans le but de déterminer quelles activités de vérification de la conformité conviennent le mieux. Cet examen comprend :

  1. l’identification des conséquences possibles pour les personnes et l’environnement des installations, à partir de critères comme l’emplacement, le type d’installations, l’âge, les antécédents concernant l’exploitation, etc.;
  2. un examen des informations disponibles – recueillies dans le cadre d’activités antérieures de surveillance de la conformité – sur la façon dont la société ou l’exploitant a géré de telles situations dans le passé.

Mécanismes de vérification de la conformité

L’Office dispose des mécanismes décrits ci-dessous pour mener à bien sa vérification de la conformité.

Audit
Un audit consiste en une vérification systématique des systèmes de gestion, soit les programmes, les méthodes, les plans, les processus, les manuels, les dossiers, les systèmes et les activités. L’audit vise à vérifier si les exigences sont respectées, à partir d’un protocole de vérification et d’évaluation des programmes de gestion et de protection. Au terme de la vérification, un plan de mesures correctives, assorti d’un échéancier précis, peut être exigé pour redresser une situation de non-conformité relevée.

Inspection
Une inspection sur le chantier consiste en un examen méthodique sur les lieux des activités réglementées ou des opérations en regard des exigences. Des inspections peuvent être réalisées en tout temps durant le cycle de vie d’un projet.

Réunions sur la conformité
Le travail de l’Office en matière de conformité comprend parfois des rencontres avec des représentants des sociétés. Ces rencontres peuvent consister en ce qui suit :

  • Examens des manuels et des rapports des sociétés réglementées
    Les sociétés réglementées remettent à l’Office leurs manuels ou leurs rapports environnementaux post-construction pour qu’il les passe en revue. Cet examen est souvent mené avant que l’autorisation de mise en service d’une installation soit accordée ou, dans le cas des manuels, dans le cadre d’activités annuelles de vérification de la conformité.
  • Rapports annuels de l’exploitant sur la sécurité et rapports sur l’environnement
    La Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada oblige les exploitants à produire chaque année des rapports sur la sécurité et sur l’environnement.
  • Évaluation des exercices d’intervention en cas d’urgence
    L’évaluation des exercices d’intervention en cas d’urgence consiste à vérifier sur place la capacité de la société ou de l’exploitant réglementé à intervenir lors d’une urgence en conformité avec ses procédures et ses plans d’intervention d’urgence.
  • Vérification de manuels des mesures d’urgence
    Cette vérification est souvent menée après une mise à jour des manuels des mesures d’urgence d’une société réglementée ou avant d’accorder à celle-ci l’autorisation de mettre des installations en service.

Enquête
L’Office mène une enquête sur tous les incidents qui se produisent afin d’en déterminer la cause et les facteurs qui sont à l’origine de celui‑ci. S’il s’agit d’un incident grave, comme une fuite ou une rupture de pipeline, l’Office dépêche souvent sur les lieux ses spécialistes pour surveiller les opérations de la société réglementée, déterminer si les mesures prises sont suffisantes et évaluer si et quand les installations pourront être remises en service de façon sécuritaire.

Suite donnée aux préoccupations et aux plaintes
L’Office peut intervenir à la suite d’une plainte formulée à l’égard d’éléments relevant de sa compétence et peut faire enquête en réaction à une plainte d’un propriétaire foncier.

IV. Application de la loi

Pour détecter les cas de non-respect de la loi, l’Office dispose des moyens suivants :

  • des activités de vérification de la conformité;
  • des enquêtes à la suite d’incidents ou d’activités à haut risque.

L’Office se sert des outils ci-après pour assurer le respect de la loi, dissuader les comportements non conformes ultérieurs et prévenir les dommages :

  • Lettre ou avis
    L’Office a souvent recours à des avis pour porter à l’attention des compagnies réglementées des activités susceptibles d’entraîner un non-respect des exigences ou pour faire connaître son intention d’enquêter sur certains aspects présumés de non-conformité. Les avis de sécurité constituent le type d’avis le plus courant dans ce genre de situation.
  • Non-conformité corrigée
    Cet instrument est utilisé dans les cas où des non-respects des exigences relevés sur le terrain sont corrigés pendant que l’inspecteur se trouve sur place. On y a recours dans les situations où les risques pour la sécurité ou les dommages à l’environnement sont peu importants et celles où le problème est résolu immédiatement. La non-conformité est notée dans le rapport d’inspection, ainsi que les mesures qui ont été prises pour rétablir la situation.
  • Avis de non-conformité
    L’avis de non-conformité consiste en un document écrit remis par l’inspecteur à une compagnie ou à un tiers relevant de l’Office dans le cas où une situation de non-respect présente de faibles probabilités de blessures aux personnes ou de dommages à l’environnement et qu’il faut accorder un certain temps pour redresser la situation. Il vise à porter les situations de non-conformité à l’attention de la compagnie ou d’une personne afin qu’elle prenne les mesures correctives voulues. L’inspecteur établit quelle devrait être la mesure corrective, consulte la compagnie réglementée et propose un échéancier raisonnable pour revenir à une situation en règle. Sans être un verdict de culpabilité ou de responsabilité civile, l’avis est versé dans les dossiers de l’Office, qui en tient compte dans la planification de ses activités de vérification de la conformité et dans son choix d’action en cas de récidives.
  • Plans d’actions correctives
    Les compagnies assujetties à la réglementation de l’Office doivent préparer des plans d’actions correctives lorsqu’un audit révèle des situations non conformes ou par suite d’une demande précise formulée par l’Office. Ces plans doivent comporter un engagement temporel et être approuvés par l’Office.
  • Sanctions administratives pécuniaires
    Les sanctions administratives pécuniaires sont des pénalités financières qui sont infligées à des particuliers ou à des compagnies à la suite d’une infraction à des exigences prévues par la loi afin de promouvoir la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement.
  • Ordonnances et ordres
    L’Office peut recourir à des ordonnances pour forcer une compagnie à respecter certaines exigences réglementaires ou pour limiter ses activités. Les ordonnances limitant les activités d’une compagnie sont souvent appelées ordonnances de sécurité. En outre, des inspecteurs désignés sont investis des pouvoirs d’exiger que les parties redressent la situation de non-conformité et, dans certains cas, de l’ordonner.
  • Annulation d’une autorisation
    Si l’Office n’a plus confiance dans la capacité d’une compagnie de poursuive ses activités de façon sécuritaire ou de protéger l’environnement, il peut envisager d’annuler l’autorisation qui permet son exploitation.
  • Refus ou suspension du tarif
    Si l’Office constate que les droits et les tarifs demandés ou en place ne sont pas justes ou raisonnables ou qu’ils sont discriminatoires, il a le pouvoir d’en suspendre l’application ou de les annuler.
  • Poursuites
    Le fait d’enfreindre certaines dispositions de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada et de la partie II du Code canadien du travail constitue une infraction. Si l’Office constate une infraction grave, il peut transmettre les détails de celle-ci au bureau du procureur général du Canada aux fins de poursuites. Une ordonnance de l’Office peut aussi être transformée en une ordonnance d’une cour fédérale en vue de son exécution.

V. Interventions en cas d’urgence

Lors d’une situation d’urgence, les priorités de l’Office sont la sécurité des personnes et la protection des biens et de l’environnement. L’Office dispose d’un programme de gestion des urgences et il est prêt à intervenir en tout temps en pareilles circonstances. L’Office signe des accords avec des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux afin de coordonner l’intervention, d’éviter les chevauchements de compétences, de cerner les objectifs communs au titre de la réglementation et d’assurer l’efficacité des communications.

Chaque fois que se produit un incident grave dans une installation relevant de l’Office, le personnel de ce dernier supervise l’intervention immédiate et continue de la société réglementée, ainsi que ses éventuelles opérations de nettoyage. Il exige également que toutes les mesures raisonnables soient prises pour protéger les employés, la population et l’environnement. En outre, il vérifie si les opérations de nettoyage et d’atténuation des effets environnementaux découlant de l’incident qui sont exécutées par la société réglementée sont suffisantes et appropriées.

VI. Conclusion

Par ses programmes de conformité, l’Office fait la promotion de la sûreté, de la sécurité et de la protection de l’environnement. L’objectif de ces programmes est de surveiller la conformité aux exigences de l’Office et, au besoin, d’assurer leur exécution.

 

Date de modification :