Interpretation Policy

An interpretation policy is an overarching document that outlines the commitments, practices, and tools to be applied by a department or agency when providing Canadians and businesses with information and guidance on regulatory obligations to be met. It also identifies the conditions under which written responses to questions will be provided.

Departmental Context

The National Energy Board (NEB) is an independent federal regulator established in 1959 by the Parliament of Canada to regulate international and interprovincial aspects of the oil, gas and electric utility industries. The purpose of the NEB is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. The NEB is accountable to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources Canada.

The NEB is committed to providing clear and up-to-date information to help stakeholders understand their regulatory obligations. This policy describes the NEB’s commitments in the areas of Predictability, Service, Stakeholder Engagement, and Improvement.

Predictability

Plain Language Commitment

The NEB is committed to providing Canadians with clear information, written in plain language whenever possible.

The NEB has developed Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for their most accessed regulations and is committed to the publication of FAQs for all new or amended regulations that have business impacts.

Providing Guidance and Building Awareness

The NEB clarifies its expectations and provides guidance on how to meet regulatory requirements in documents such as the Filing Manual, regulatory guidance, policies, protocols, and FAQs.

Responding to Questions

The NEB responds to stakeholder questions about regulatory requirements in a timely, accurate, and helpful manner. In general, responses are offered in the form that inquiries are made, whether verbally or in writing.

Common/frequent inquiries may be responded to through FAQs.

The NEB does not provide legal advice about how specific regulations may apply to particular circumstances.

The NEB will endeavor to acknowledge receipt of all written requests for interpretation within 2 business days.

Service

Service Commitment

The NEB is committed to delivering professional and courteous[1] responses to stakeholder enquiries about how to meet their regulatory requirements.

Service Accountability

If stakeholders are not satisfied with the guidance they have received from NEB staff on how to meet their regulatory obligations, they should begin by contacting the staff member to see if it is possible for them to clarify or amplify the guidance. If unresolved, stakeholders may contact the staff member’s supervisor. 

Staff Training

The NEB commits to ensuring that staff responding to enquiries have the necessary skills and technical knowledge to provide quality service and accurate information on regulatory requirements.

Stakeholder Engagement

Commitment to Stakeholder Engagement

The NEB is committed to meaningful engagement with stakeholders throughout the development and implementation of its regulations and regulatory documents.

Stakeholder Engagement Practices

Consultation with the public, regulated companies and other stakeholders is an integral component of developing the NEB’s regulatory framework. The NEB holds public consultations to seek input on its new or updated regulatory documents. Meetings and workshops may also be organized to engage stakeholders and solicit feedback on the development of regulations and guidance. In cases where the NEB proposes to exercise its authority in a new area or in a new way, discussion papers are often used to encourage stakeholder engagement early in the process. Additionally, the NEB regularly participates in outreach sessions, workshops, conferences and meetings which provide opportunities to clarify requirements for regulated companies and to respond to issues.

Stakeholders are notified of consultation opportunities through the NEB’s email distribution list, NEB website, NEB Twitter account, and publications in the Canada Gazette.

Improvement

The NEB sought feedback from stakeholders from February 2nd-28th on its current interpretation practices and did not receive any comments on this issue. This feedback was to form the basis of an Interpretation Improvement Plan. In an effort to continually hear from our stakeholders, the NEB will continue to seek feedback in order to compile a substantive pool of comments. Please provide any comments you may have to info@neb-one.gc.ca, noting in the subject line that this is related to the “Interpretation Policy”. The NEB considers all feedback received and will identify and publish its plans for improvement, as needed. These improvements will be implemented over the following two years. An update on these improvements will be made available by March 31, 2017.

References

[1] Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Date modified:

Politique d’interprétation

Une politique d’interprétation est un document cadre qui expose les engagements qu’un ministère ou organisme doit respecter, les pratiques qu’il doit appliquer et les outils qu’il doit utiliser lorsqu’il fournit une orientation ou de l’information aux Canadiens et aux entreprises au sujet des obligations réglementaires à respecter. Cette politique établit également les conditions dans lesquelles des réponses écrites aux questions seront fournies.

Contexte de l’organisme

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme de réglementation fédéral indépendant créé par le Parlement du Canada en 1959 pour réglementer les activités internationales et interprovinciales des secteurs du pétrole, du gaz et de l’électricité. Il a pour raison d’être de réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. L’Office rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles du Canada.

L’Office s’emploie à fournir de l’information claire et à jour pour aider les parties prenantes à comprendre leurs obligations réglementaires. La présente politique décrit les engagements pris par l’Office en matière de prévisibilité, de service, de mobilisation des intervenants et d’amélioration.Prévisibilité

Engagement à l’égard d’un langage simple

L’Office est déterminé à procurer aux Canadiens des renseignements clairs, rédigés dans le langage le plus simple possible.

L’Office a produit une foire aux questions sur les volets les plus consultés de sa réglementation et il s’est engagé à y greffer d’autres sections chaque fois que des règlements ayant une incidence sur les entreprises seront adoptés ou modifiés.

Fournir de l’orientation et favoriser la sensibilisation

Dans des documents comme le Guide de dépôt, des lignes directrices en matière de réglementation, des politiques, des protocoles ou des foires aux questions, l’Office apporte des éclaircissements quant à ses attentes et fournit des indications précises sur la façon de respecter les exigences réglementaires.

Réponse aux questions

L’Office répond en temps opportun aux questions des parties prenantes au sujet des exigences réglementaires en leur fournissant des renseignements précis et utiles. En général, les réponses sont présentées sous la forme dans laquelle les questions ont été soumises, soit verbalement ou par écrit.

Les demandes qui reviennent fréquemment ou qui sont répétitives peuvent faire l’objet d’une réponse sous forme d’une foire aux questions.

L’Office ne fournit pas de conseils juridiques au sujet de l’application d’un règlement précis dans un cas particulier.

L’Office national de l’énergie s’efforcera d’accuser réception, dans les deux jours ouvrables, de toutes les demandes d’interprétation présentées par écrit.

Service

Engagement en matière de service

L’Office a pris l’engagement de répondre de façon professionnelle et courtoise[1] aux questions des parties prenantes portant sur la façon dont elles peuvent respecter les exigences réglementaires.

Responsabilisation en matière de service

Si les parties prenantes ne sont pas satisfaites de l’orientation proposée par le personnel de l’Office quant à la façon de remplir leurs obligations réglementaires, elles devraient d’abord communiquer avec le personnel en question pour voir s’il est possible d’obtenir des éclaircissements ou lui demander d’élaborer. Si la confusion persiste, elles peuvent communiquer avec les superviseurs.

Formation du personnel

L’Office a pris l’engagement de s’assurer que les membres de son personnel qui répondent aux demandes possèdent les compétences et les connaissances techniques voulues pour fournir un service de qualité ainsi que des renseignements précis au sujet des exigences réglementaires.

Mobilisation des intervenants

Engagement à l’égard de la mobilisation des intervenants

L’Office croit en une participation significative des parties prenantes tout au long de l’élaboration de ses règlements et de la mise en œuvre des documents réglementaires.

Pratiques de mobilisations des intervenants

La consultation du public, des sociétés réglementées et des autres parties prenantes fait partie intégrante de l’élaboration du cadre de réglementation de l’Office. Celui-ci tient des consultations publiques pour obtenir de la rétroaction au sujet des nouveaux documents réglementaires ou de ceux qu’il faut mettre à jour. Des réunions et des ateliers peuvent aussi être organisés pour assurer la participation des parties prenantes et demander leur rétroaction au moment de l’élaboration de règlements et de lignes directrices. Lorsque l’Office se propose d’exercer son autorité dans un nouveau secteur, ou d’une nouvelle façon, des documents de travail constituent souvent le mode choisi pour inciter les parties prenantes à prendre part à l’exercice dès le début du processus. En outre, il participe périodiquement à des activités de relations communautaires, des ateliers, des conférences et des réunions qui donnent l’occasion d’apporter des éclaircissements quant aux exigences imposées aux sociétés réglementées, ce qui lui permet aussi de répondre aux questions alors soulevées.

Les parties prenantes dont les coordonnées figurent dans des listes de distribution sont informées des consultations menées au moyen de courriels envoyés par l’Office, qui publie en outre cette information sur son site Web, par la voie de gazouillis et dans la Gazette du Canada.

Amélioration

L’Office a sollicité des commentaires de la part des parties prenantes du 2 au 28 février au sujet de ses pratiques actuelle d’interprétation, mais n’en a reçu aucun. Cette rétroaction aurait servi de fondement à un plan d’amélioration de l’interprétation. S’efforçant toujours d’être à l’écoute des parties prenantes, l’Office continuera de chercher à obtenir de la rétroaction de leur part en vue de créer un dossier substantiel de commentaires. Veuillez nous envoyer les commentaires que vous pourriez avoir à ce sujet à l’adresse info@neb-one.gc.ca et précisez « Politique d’interprétation » dans la ligne objet. L’Office les examinera tous et fera ultérieurement connaître ses plans d’amélioration selon les besoins.

Références

[1] Code de valeurs et d’éthique de la fonction publique

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à  venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification :